News

Starting with the theatre season 2018 / 2019 Wolf E. Rahlfs is Artistic Director of the “Theater der Altmark" (TdA), Regional theatre of Saxony-Anhalt North.

Find the theatre’s web presence here:
> Theater der Altmark

For upcoming premieres and performances of his productions: see “Dates" to the right.

You’ll find the home page of his creative team SPOOKY BUNCH here:
> Spooky Bunch

Dates Recent & upcoming productions

CABARET

by Kander (Music), Ebb (Lyrics), Masteroff (Libretto)

Premiere
Theater der Altmark
October 27, 2018
Performance Dates

STEPPENWOLF

by Hermann Hesse

Revival
Badische Landesbühne
Season 2018 / 2019
Performance Dates

DEATH OF A SALESMAN

by Arthur Miller

Premiere
Theater der Altmark
January 13, 2019
Performance Dates

About Me

Awards

2012

Nomination for INTHEGA-theatre prize „NEUBERIN“ for “Michael Kohlhaas" based on the novella by Heinrich von Kleist

2009

1st Jury prize at the INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL FOR STAGE DIRECTING in Leipzig for „The Bacchae" by Euripides

2009

In the preselection for a nomination for the theatre prize “DER FAUST" for “Nightblind" by Darja Stocker (Category: Youth theatre)

2002

Buzz Goodbody Award of the ROYAL SHAKESPEARE COMPANY for solo piece “Notes from Underground" by Eric Bogosian

Professional Experience

2003 – 2018

Productions at several theatres in Germany and abroad, e.g. Badische
Landesbühne and Theater Koblenz (Germany), German State Theatre
Timisoara (Romania), Soho Theatre (UK)

Furthermore: miscellaneous engagements as a theatre actor as well as in film, TV and radio

Training

2009 / 11

Berlin University of the Arts
Workshops with Philippe Gaulier

2005

Berliner Festspiele – Theatertreffen International Forum of young theatre artists
(Course instructor: Dr. Manfred Linke)

2001 – 2003

MFA (Master of Fine Arts) – Theatre Directing
Middlesex University, London (UK) and York University, Toronto (Canada)

1998 – 2001

BA (Bachelor of Arts with Honours) – Performing Arts / Acting
Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA), Liverpool (UK)

 

SKILLS & KNOWLEDGE

Writer

Several stage adaptations and translations (English-German)
Publisher: stückgut Bühnen- und Musikverlag GmbH Munich (Germany)

Stage Combat

Training with the British Academy for Dramatic Combat

Languages

English, German, Spanish

Music

Experience with bands and stage music
Instruments: Piano, Drums, Guitar
Vocals: Baritone (Pop / Rock)

Actor

Wolf E. Rahlfs as actor:
schauspiel.wolfrahlfs.de

Productions

STEPPENWOLF (2018)

STEPPENWOLF (2018) Based on the novel by Hermann HesseAdapted for the stage by Joachim LuxBadische Landesbühne DirectorWolf E. Rahlfs Music/Sound SupervisionPaolo Greco Stage/CostumesFranziska Smolarek Qlab-Programming Britta Bischof VideoTommi Brem 〉Performance Dates Presse The Premiere review of Badische Neueste Nachrichten ascertains: “Wolf E. Rahlfs convinces with his production of the Classic at Badische Landesbühne by applying […]

24 HOURS IN THE LIFE OF A WOMAN (2017)

24 HOURS IN THE LIFE OF A WOMAN (2017) Play by Éric-Emmanuel Schmitt Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Original Music Paolo Greco Stage / Video Tommi Brem Qlab-Programming Live-Video Britta Bischof Costumes Kerstin Oelker 〉Performance Dates Press Excerpt from the premiere review of Badische Neueste Nachrichten: “Cornelia Heilmann received enthusiastic applause for her […]

ANDORRA (2017)

ANDORRA (2017) Drama by Max Frisch Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Music Paolo Greco Stage Tommi Brem Costumes Franziska Smolarek Press The premiere review of Badische Neueste Nachrichten titles: “Thrilling production.” The Schwarzwälder Bote saw an „Outcry against intolerance” and the Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung concludes „Discussions as the audience leaves the venue – theatre as […]

ORPHANS (2016)

ORPHANS (2016) Play by Dennis Kelly Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Press The Badische Neueste Nachrichten headline reads “This really takes it out of ya“. The Fränkische Nachrichten witnessed a “disturbing chamber play“ and the Main Echo finds prove in the production that the “ancient […]

SHAKESPEARE – LOVE, DEATH & DREAMS (2016)

SHAKESPEARE – LOVE, DEATH & DREAMS (2016) A Dream Play by Wolf E. Rahlfs based on a selection of Shakespeare’s sonnets Cooperation project Theater Koblenz & State association of professional private theatre companies Rhineland-Palatinate (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage Franziska Smolarek Wolf E. Rahlfs Costumes Franziska Smolarek Musical Direction Ernst Seitz Press The Rhein-Zeitung […]

NOISES OFF (2016)

NOISES OFF (2016) Comedy by Michael Frayn German State Theatre of Timisoara (Romania) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Franziska Smolarek This production will be in the repertoire of the German State Theatre of Timisoara until at least the summer of 2018. – For performance dates visit: www.dstt.ro Press The Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung for […]

MARY STUART (2016)

MARY STUART (2016) Tragedy by Friedrich Schiller Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Press The review of the Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung states: „Congenially staged“, while the  Burghauser Anzeiger observes: „Where many directors fail with contemporary interpretations of the Classics, Rahlfs shows, how intense and absorbing a modern reading […]

BATTLE OF BLACKS AND DOGS (2014)

BATTLE OF BLACKS AND DOGS (2014) Play by Bernard-Marie Koltès Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Press The Fränkische Nachrichten sum up: „A 90-minute assault on the audience’s disposition. Heart-stopping and disturbing.” Photos © Peter Empl

A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE (2014)

A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE (2014) Drama by Tennessee Williams Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Press The Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung simply detects „sublime acting“, while the Schwarzwälder Bote establishes: „Brutality and Blues go hand in hand.” Photos © Peter Empl

AMADEUS (2013)

AMADEUS (2013) Play by Peter Shaffer Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage Ines Unser Costumes Franziska Smolarek Musical Programming Matthias Burger Press The Fränkische Nachrichten saw an „ensemble of actors, bubbling over with wit and joy of playing”. The critic of the Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung puts to the record: „A thoughtful production with spectacular scenes“. […]

HEAD-ON (2012)

HEAD-ON (2012) Stage adaptation by Armin Petras based on Fatih Akin’s film of the same name Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes / Video Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Press The Heilbronner Stimme attests the actors „peak performances“. The Bruchsaler Woche concludes: „Not for the faint-hearted.“ Photos © Peter Empl

THE TAMING OF THE SHREW (2012)

THE TAMING OF THE SHREW (2012) Comedy by William Shakespeare Stage adaptation by Wolf E. Rahlfs based on the translation of Wolf Graf von Baudissin Theater Koblenz (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Marlis Knoblauch Press The Rhein-Zeitung summarises „Splendid!” Photos © Arel Glebocki

HAUPTSACHE ARBEIT! (2012)

HAUPTSACHE ARBEIT! (2012) A blockbuster by Sibylle Berg Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Presse The Badische Neueste Nachrichten witnessed a „roller coaster ride superbly orchestrated by director Wolf E. Rahlfs”. The Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung is inspired to ask: „How rough and evil may satire be?“. „Maybe a […]

MICHAEL KOHLHAAS (2011)

MICHAEL KOHLHAAS (2011) Stage adaptation by Wolf E. Rahlfs & Tommi Brem based on the novella by Heinrich von Kleist Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Nominated for the INTHEGA-theatre award „Neuberin“ Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Presse The Siegener Zeitung saw a „riveting production (…) breathless, emotional, fascinating“. The Südkurier […]

TWELFTH NIGHT (2011)

TWELFTH NIGHT (2011) Comedy by William Shakespeare / Newly translated by Wolf E. Rahlfs Theater Koblenz (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Franziska Smolarek Presse Regarding the retranslation of director Wolf E. Rahlfs the Rhein-Zeitung notes: „Rahlfs’ aspiration, to conserve the poetry and musicality of Shakespeare’s text whilst making it comprehensible to a […]

PORNOGRAPHY (2011)

PORNOGRAPHY (2011) Play by Simon Stephens Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse The Badische Neueste Nachrichten feel inspired to say: „Once again Rahlfs proves himself as an outstanding director of actors, who motivates the cast to deliver their very best.“ Photos © Peter Empl

AS YOU LIKE IT (2010)

AS YOU LIKE IT (2010) Comedy by William Shakespeare Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Franziska Smolarek Presse The Fränkische Nachrichten title: „Clear the stage for the comedic energy of director Wolf E. Rahlfs! (…) Joke upon joke upon joke.“ The Mittelbadische Presse is delighted to see “open-air theatre both slick and feather-light”, […]

THE BACCHAE (2009)

THE BACCHAE (2009) Tragedy by Euripides International Festival for Stage Directing: Leipzig (Germany) – First Jury Award. Trento (Italy): Audience Award Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Wolf E. Rahlfs Franziska Smolarek Music Paolo Greco Presse The Leipziger Volkszeitung quotes the jury on their statement of grounds: “Aesthetically this was the most consistend production”. […]

NIGHT BLIND (2009)

NIGHT BLIND (2009) Play by Darja Stocker Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Guest performances: Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin (Germany), Nordic Baltic Festival Tallinn (Estonia), International Youth theatre festival “Schöne Aussicht”, JES / Stuttgart (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Tommi Brem Music Paolo Greco Presse The Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung discovers the „puzzle of a family, slowly assembled, […]

THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST (2009)

THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST (2009) Comedy by Oscar Wilde Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage / Costumes Franziska Smolarek Presse The Heilbronner Stimme happily discovers „Gingerbread Style social criticism”. And the Fränkische Nachrichten state director Wolf E. Rahlfs “speeds through the dialogues in such a fashion that it makes the audience’s heads […]

LILA / PURPLE (2007)

LILA / PURPLE (2007) Play by Jon Fosse Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Musical Direction Milan Pesl Stage Wolf E. Rahlfs Karl-Heinz Drach Costumes Wolf E. Rahlfs Presse The Schwarzwälder Bote concisely concludes: „This production is going to be a box-office wonder.” Photos © Peter Empl

STOP THE TEMPO! (2006)

STOP THE TEMPO! (2006) Play by Gianina Carbunariu Badische Landesbühne (Germany) Guest performances: Heidelberger Stückemarkt (Festival for New Writing), International Youth Theatre Festival “Schöne Aussicht”,  JES / Stuttgart (Germany) Director / Stage / Costumes / Video Wolf E. Rahlfs Music Paolo Greco Presse Theater der Zeit calls the production a “flamboyant and operatic theatre performance“. […]

THING-FISH (2003)

THING-FISH (2003) Musical by Frank Zappa in a stage adaptation by Wolf E. Rahlfs & Tommi Brem World Premiere @ Battersea Arts Centre (BAC), London (UK) Director Wolf E. Rahlfs Stage & Costumes Franziska Smolarek Production Design Tommi Brem Light-Design Dirk Neuhof Musical Direction Moritz Metzner Choreography Yael Loewenstein Presse Lyn Gardner in the Guardian: […]

CV

Wolf E. Rahlfs received his MFA (Master of Fine Arts) in Theatre Directing from Middlesex University, London (UK). He also hold a BA in Performing Arts – Acting from the Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA, UK) and conducted part of his directing studies at York University in Toronto (Canada). Rahlfs has been directing continuously in Germany and abroad since 2003 and was responsible for 25+ professional productions.

In 2003 he staged the World Premiere Production of Franz Zappa's sole musical “Thing-Fish" at the London Battersea Arts Centre (BAC). In 2009 Rahlfs won the Jury Prize at the German edition of the International Festival for Stage Directing in Leipzig (Germany), as well as the Audience Award at the international finale in Trento (Italy). His production of Heinrich von Kleist's “Michael Kohlhaas", based on his and Tommi Brem's own adaptation, was nominated for the INTHEGA-Theatre Prize “Neuberin" in Germany.

His directing credits include Classics such as Shakespeare's “Macbeth", “Twelfth Night" and “As you like it" or Friedrich Schiller's “Mary Stuart" as well as modern Classics, e.g. Tennessee Williams' “Streetcar named desire" or Peter Shaffer's “Amadeus". His particular interests pertain to Contemporary Drama. He has frequently staged the works of e.g. Jon Fosse, Dennis Kelly, Bernard-Marie Koltès or Simon Stephens.

Rahlfs is also active in unconventional coproductions: in 2016 he coordinated the experimental project “Shakespeare – Love, Death & Dream", a cross-institutional theatre enterprise bringing together a traditional repertoire theatre (Theater Koblenz) and several fringe theatres from the state of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Starting with theatre season 2018 / 2019 he is Artistic Director of the “Theater der Altmark" (TdA), Regional Theatre of Saxony-Anhalt, in Stendal, Germany.

News

Wolf E. Rahlfs ist designierter Intendant des Theaters der Altmark (TdA), Landestheater Sachsen-Anhalt Nord, und übernimmt diese Funktion zur Spielzeit 2018_19.

Aktuell zeigt die Badische Landesbühne Rahlfs Inszenierung der deutschsprachigen Erstaufführung von Éric-Emmanuel Schmitts „Vierundzwanzig Stunden im Leben einer Frau“ (nach einer Novelle von Stefan Zweig).
Spieltermine

Außerdem laufen die Vorbereitungen für seine Bühnenversion von Hermann Hesses „Der Steppenwolf“ (Fassung: Joachim Lux), ebenfalls an der Badischen Landesbühne. – Premiere: 01. Februar 2018.
Spieltermine

In beiden Produktionen arbeitet Rahlfs mit den Mitgliedern  seines Regieteams SPOOKY BUNCH zusammen: Tommi Brem (Bühne / Video), Franziska Smolarek (Bühne / Kostüme) und Paolo Greco (Musik / Sound-Design).

Termine Aktuelle & kommende Produktionen

Vierundzwanzig Stunden im Leben einer Frau

von Éric-Emmanuel Schmitt

Premiere
23. September 2017
Badische Landesbühne

Spieltermine
Spieltermine

Der Steppenwolf

von Hermann Hesse,
für die Bühne eingerichtet von Joachim Lux

Premiere
01.Februar 2018
Badische Landesbühne

Spieltermine
Spieltermine

Zur Person

Auszeichnungen

2012

Nominierung INTHEGA-Theaterpreis „NEUBERIN“ für die Produktion „Michael Kohlhaas“ nach Heinrich von Kleist

2009

1. Jurypreis beim INTERNATIONALEN FESTIVAL FÜR THEATERREGIE in Leipzig für die Produktion „Die Bakchen“ nach Euripides

2009

In der Vorauswahl für eine Nominierung für den Theaterpreis „DER FAUST“ für die Produktion „Nachtblind“ von Darja Stocker (Kategorie: Regie Kinder- und Jugendtheater)

2002

Auszeichnung durch die ROYAL SHAKESPEARE COMPANY (Buzz Goodbody Award) für das Solostück „Notes from Underground“ von Eric Bogosian

Berufserfahrung

2003 – 2017

Inszenierungen an diversen Bühnen im In- und Ausland, u.a. Badische Landesbühne, Theater Koblenz, Deutsches Staatstheater Temeswar (Rumänien), Soho Theatre London (GB)

Außerdem: diverse Fest- und Gastengagements als Schauspieler

Aus- und Weiterbildung

2009/11

Universität der Künste Berlin
Workshops mit Philippe Gaulier

2005

Berliner Festspiele – Theatertreffen Internationales Forum junger Bühnenangehöriger
(Leitung: Dr. Manfred Linke)

2001 – 2003

MFA (Master of Fine Arts) – Regie Middlesex University, London (GB) und York University, Toronto (Kanada)

1998 – 2001

BA (Bachelor of Arts with Honours) – Schauspiel
Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA), Liverpool (GB)

 

FÄHIGKEITEN & KENNTNISSE

Autor

Diverse Bühnenfassungen und Übersetzungen
Verlag: stückgut Bühnen- und Musikverlag GmbH München

Bühnenkampf

Ausbildung durch British Academy for Dramatic Combat
(Britische Akademie für Bühnenkampf)

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch

Musik

Band- und Bühnenmusikerfahrung
Instrumente: Klavier, Schlagzeug, Gitarre
Gesang: Bariton (Pop / Rock)

Schauspiel

Wolf E. Rahlfs als Schauspieler unter:
schauspiel.wolfrahlfs.de

Inszenierungen

24 STUNDEN IM LEBEN EINER FRAU (2017)

24 STUNDEN IM LEBEN EINER FRAU (2017) Schauspiel von Éric-Emmanuel Schmitt Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Originalkomposition Paolo Greco Bühne / Video Tommi Brem Qlab-Programming Live-Video Britta Bischof Kostüme Kerstin Oelker 〉Spieltermine Presse Aus der Premierenkritik der Badischen Neuesten Nachrichten: „Cornelia Heilmann erhielt für ihre Darstellung der Celia verdienten begeisterten Beifall.“ Die Fränkischen Nachrichten […]

ANDORRA (2017)

ANDORRA (2017) Schauspiel von Max Frisch Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Musik Paolo Greco Bühne Tommi Brem Kostüme Franziska Smolarek Presse Die Premierenkritik der Badischen Neuesten Nachrichten titelt: „Packende Inszenierung“. Der Schwarzwälder Bote sah einen „Aufruf gegen die Intoleranz“ und die Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung beobachtet „Diskussionen im Publikum beim Hinausgehen – Theater, wie es sein sollte.“ […]

WAISEN (2016)

WAISEN (2016) Schauspiel von Dennis Kelly Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Badischen Neuesten Nachrichten titeln schlicht „Das geht an die Substanz“. Die Fränkischen Nachrichten sehen ein „aufwühlendes Kammerspiel“ und das Main Echo bescheinigt, „(die Inszenierung) zeigt überaus deutlich, dass der uralte Konflikt zwischen Ich und Gesetz, […]

SHAKESPEARE – LIEBE, TOD & TRAUM (2016)

SHAKESPEARE – LIEBE, TOD & TRAUM (2016) Traumspiel von Wolf E. Rahlfs nach einer Auswahl von Shakespeares Sonetten Kooperationsprojekt Theater Koblenz & Landesverband professioneller freier Theater Rheinland-Pfalz Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Bühne Franziska Smolarek Wolf E. Rahlfs Kostüme Franziska Smolarek Musikalische Leitung Ernst Seitz Presse Die Rhein-Zeitung tituliert in der Premierenkritik „Vereint in Shakespeare“. Der […]

DER NACKTE WAHNSINN (2016)

DER NACKTE WAHNSINN (2016) Komödie von Michael Frayn Deutsches Staatstheater Temeswar (Rumänien) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Franziska Smolarek Die Produktion ist voraussichtlich bis Sommer 2018 im Repertoire des Deutschen Staatstheaters Temeswar. – Zur Spielplanübersicht des DSTT: www.dstt.ro Presse Die Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung für Rumänien aus Bukarest stellt fest: „Die jüngste Premiere am Deutschen Staatstheater […]

MARIA STUART (2016)

MARIA STUART (2016) Trauerspiel von Friedrich Schiller Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse In der Besprechung der Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung heißt es schlicht: „Kongenial inszeniert“, während der Burghauser Anzeiger ausführt: „Wo schon manche Regisseure an modernen Inszenierungen von Klassikern gescheitert sind, zeigt Rahlfs, wie packend, wie intensiv der Machtkampf der […]

KAMPF DES NEGERS UND DER HUNDE (2014)

KAMPF DES NEGERS UND DER HUNDE (2014) Schauspiel von Bernard-Marie Koltès Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse In den Fränkischen Nachrichten heißt es zur Produktion: „Ein 90 Minuten dauernder Angriff auf die Gemütslage des Zuschauers. Spannend, packend, aufwühlend.“ Fotos © Peter Empl

ENDSTATION SEHNSUCHT (2014)

ENDSTATION SEHNSUCHT (2014) Schauspiel von Tennessee Williams Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung spricht von „Grandioser Schauspielkunst“, während der Schwarzwälder Bote konstatiert: „Brutalität und Blues liegen nah beieinander.“ Fotos © Peter Empl

AMADEUS (2013)

AMADEUS (2013) Schauspiel von Peter Shaffer Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Bühne Ines Unser Kostüme Franziska Smolarek Musikalische Einrichtung Matthias Burger Presse In den Fränkischen Nachrichten ist die Rede von einer „Schauspieltruppe, die vor Witz und Spielfreude nur so sprühte“. Der Rezensent der Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung sah eine „Inszenierung mit Tiefgang und spektakulären Szenen“. Fotos © […]

GEGEN DIE WAND (2012)

GEGEN DIE WAND (2012) Bühnenfassung von Armin Petras nach dem gleichnamigen Film von Fatih Akin Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Online-Seite der „Heilbronner Stimme“ sieht in der Inszenierung „schauspielerische Höchstleistung“. Die Bruchsaler Woche fasst zusammen: „Nichts für schwache Nerven.“ Fotos © Peter Empl

DER WIDERSPENSTIGEN ZÄHMUNG (2012)

DER WIDERSPENSTIGEN ZÄHMUNG (2012) Komödie von William Shakespeare Fassung von Wolf E. Rahlfs auf Basis der Übersetzung von Wolf Graf von Baudissin Theater Koblenz Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Marlis Knoblauch Presse Die Rhein-Zeitung schreibt „Die Widerspenstige unterhält bestens“. Fotos © Arel Glebocki

HAUPTSACHE ARBEIT! (2012)

HAUPTSACHE ARBEIT! (2012) Straßenfeger von Sibylle Berg Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse In den Badischen Neuesten Nachrichten heißt es „Diese Achterbahnfahrt hat der Regisseur Wolf E. Rahlfs grandios umgesetzt“. Die Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung fragt angesichts der Inszenierung: „Wie derb und böse darf Satire sein?“. „Starker Tobak für die Zuschauer, […]

MICHAEL KOHLHAAS (2011)

MICHAEL KOHLHAAS (2011) Bühnenfassung von Wolf E. Rahlfs & Tommi Brem nach der gleichnamigen Novelle von Heinrich von Kleist Badische Landesbühne Nominiert für den INTHEGA-Theaterpreis „Neuberin“ Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Siegener Zeitung sah eine „fesselnde Inszenierung (…) atemlos, emotional, faszinierend“. Im Südkurier ist zu lesen: „Aufmerksam geweckt, […]

WAS IHR WOLLT (2011)

WAS IHR WOLLT (2011) Komödie von William Shakespeare / Neuübersetzung von Wolf E. Rahlfs Theater Koblenz Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Franziska Smolarek Presse Zur Neuübersetzung von Regisseur Wolf E. Rahlfs merkt die Rhein-Zeitung an: „Ziemlich ehrgeizig war Rahlfs Anspruch, mit der Neuübertragung ins Deutsche die Schönheit und Musikalität der Sprache Shakespeares zu bewahren, ihre […]

PORNOGRAPHIE (2011)

PORNOGRAPHIE (2011) Schauspiel von Simon Stephens Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse In den Badischen Neuesten Nachrichten liest man in der Premierenkritik: „Einmal mehr erweist sich Rahlfs als hervorragender Schauspieler-Regisseur, der alle Beteiligten zu großer Form auflaufen lässt und Geschichten packend über Figuren vermittelt. (…) Langer, aufgewühlter Applaus.“ […]

WIE ES EUCH GEFÄLLT (2010)

WIE ES EUCH GEFÄLLT (2010) Komödie von William Shakespeare Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Franziska Smolarek Presse Die Fränkischen Nachrichten sagen: „Bühne frei für die besonders ausgeprägte komödiantische Energie von Regisseur Wolf E. Rahlfs, der es zwitschern, turnen, schäkern, misstrauen, ringen und toben ließ (…) Ein Gag jagte den anderen.“ In der Mittelbadischen […]

DIE BAKCHEN (2009)

DIE BAKCHEN (2009) Tragödie von Euripides Internationales Festival für Theaterregie in Leipzig (1. Jurypreis) und Trient (Publikumspreis) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Wolf E. Rahlfs Franziska Smolarek Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Leipziger Volkszeitung zitiert Jurymitglied Lutz Graf mit seinem Kommentar zum 1. Preis für Wolf E. Rahlfs: „Das war der ästhetisch konsequenteste Beitrag.“ Fotos […]

NACHTBLIND (2009)

NACHTBLIND (2009) Schauspiel von Darja Stocker Badische Landesbühne Gastspiele: Maxim Gorki Theater, Tallinn (Nordic Baltic Festival), Schöne Aussicht (JES, Stuttgart) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Tommi Brem Musik Paolo Greco Presse Die Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung entdeckt „ein langsam sich zusammensetzendes Puzzle einer Familie, präzise und scharf, doch geöffnet in Spiel-Räume von überraschender Tiefe“. Und die Badischen Neuesten […]

BUNBURY (2009)

BUNBURY (2009) Komödie von Oscar Wilde Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Franziska Smolarek Presse Die Heilbronner Stimme entdeckt „Gesellschaftskritik verpackt im Zuckerbäckerstil“. Und die Fränkischen Nachrichten finden, der „Regisseur jagte durch die Dialoge, dass dem Zuschauer schwindlig wurde“. Fotos © Franziska Smolarek

LILA / PURPLE (2007)

LILA / PURPLE (2007) Schauspiel von Jon Fosse Badische Landesbühne Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Wolf E. Rahlfs Karl-Heinz Drach Musikalische Leitung Milan Pesl Presse Der Schwarzwälder Bote fasst knapp zusammen: „Die Inszenierung (…) hat das Zeug zum Renner.“ Fotos © Peter Empl

STOP THE TEMPO! (2006)

STOP THE TEMPO! (2006) Schauspiel von Gianina Carbunariu Badische Landesbühne (Deutsche Erstaufführung) Gastspiele: Heidelberger Stückemarkt, Schöne Aussicht (JES, Stuttgart) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Ausstattung Wolf E. Rahlfs Musik Paolo Greco Presse Theater der Zeit beschreibt die Inszenierung als „grelle Sprechoper“.  Dem Regisseur Wolf E. Rahlfs sei „ein furioser Theaterabend auf adäquatem Terrain gelungen“. Als „krasse […]

THING-FISH (2003)

THING-FISH (2003) Musical von Frank Zappa in einer Bearbeitung von Wolf E. Rahlfs & Tommi Brem Battersea Arts Centre (BAC), London (Welturaufführung) Regie Wolf E. Rahlfs Bühne & Kostüme Franziska Smolarek Ausstattung Tommi Brem Licht-Design Dirk Neuhof Musikalische Leitung Moritz Metzner Choreographie Yael Loewenstein Presse Lyn Gardner schreibt in der Zeitung The Guardian: „Thing-Fish ist […]

Wolf E. Rahlfs hat seinen MFA (Master of Fine Arts) in Regie an der Middlesex University in London erworben. Er ist außerdem ausgebildeter Schauspieler (Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts, LIPA / GB) und hat zeitweise an der York University in Toronto (Kanada) studiert. Seit der Spielzeit 2003/04 hat er mehr als 25 Inszenierungen im In- und Ausland realisiert.

2003 inszenierte Rahlfs die Welturaufführung von Frank Zappas einzigem Musical „Thing-Fish“ am Londonder Battersea Arts Centre (BAC). 2009 gewann er für seine Interpretation von Euripides „Bakchen“ beim Internationalen Festival für Theaterregie in Leipzig zunächst den Jury-, beim Finale in Trient den Publikumspreis. Seine Inszenierung von Heinrich von Kleists „Michael Kohlhaas“, nach eigener Adaption, war 2012 nominiert für den INTHEGA-Theaterpreis „Neuberin“.

Zu seinen weiteren Regiearbeiten gehören klassische Stoffe wie Schillers „Maria Stuart“ und Shakespeares „Macbeth“, sowie Inszenierungen moderner Klassiker wie Max Frischs „Andorra“ und Tennessee Williams „Endstation Sehnsucht“. Darüber hinaus bringt Rahlfs, z.B. mit seinen Interpretationen von Darja Stockers „Nachtblind“, Simon Stephens „Pornographie“, Bernard-Marie Koltès „Kampf des Negers und der Hunde“ oder Dennis Kellys „Waisen“, regelmäßig zeitgenössische Dramatik auf die Bühne.

In der Spielzeit 2015/16 koordinierte er, basierend auf Shakespeares Sonetten, das institutionsübergreifende Projekt „Shakespeare – Liebe, Tod & Traum“ am Theater Koblenz als Koproduktion zwischen dem Stadttheater und dem Landesverband professioneller freier Theater Rheinland-Pfalz.